Linus Pauling Award

Robert Rountree, MD, receives the 2015 Linus Pauling Award
The Linus Pauling Award in Functional Medicine was established in 1996 at the 3rd Annual International Symposium on Functional Medicine in Vancouver, BC. Dr. Jeffrey Bland, co-founder of the Institute for Functional Medicine (IFM), worked with Dr. Pauling early in his career, and admired both the man and his contributions to science and medicine. He felt that an award named after this visionary scientist and thinker would be the greatest way to honor his life and achievements.

Since that time, the Linus Pauling award (LPA) has been presented at IFM’s Annual International Conference on Functional Medicine. The LPA is given to a clinician or researcher who has made a significant contribution to the development of Functional Medicine, either through research or activities within IFM that enlarge the Functional Medicine model or extend the influence of the Functional Medicine systems approach. This award has become a recognized achievement in the field of integrative and systems medicine and is juried through a formalized process of selection.

Robert Rountree, MD, was named recipient of the Linus Pauling Functional Medicine Award at IFM's 2015 Annual International Conference, held May 28-30, 2015, in Austin, Texas. Dr. Rountree received the award for his pioneering work in the development of Functional Medicine and for his role as a highly inspirational and informational member of IFM’s faculty.

In the words of IFM President Emeritus David Jones, MD: “Dr. Rountree has been an enduring and creative force in the development of the IFM educational programs for applying and teaching a 21st-century clinical medicine and curriculum. His input, curriculum ideas, and mentoring have significantly impacted IFM’s certification program graduates to better serve their patients suffering with chronic, complex medical illnesses as well as advising them in their pursuit of health.”

Linus Pauling Award Recipients

Past recipients of the Linus Pauling Award in Functional Medicine, and the accomplishments for which they were honored, are shown below:

Robert Rountree, MD
Pioneering work in the development of Functional Medicine and service as a highly inspirational and informational member of IFM’s faculty
Randy Jirtle, MD    
Groundbreaking work on the role that nutrients play in the epigenetic modulation of phenotype and the interactions between the epigenome, the genome, and the environment

Alessio Fasano, MD    


Pioneering work delineating the underlying mechanisms involved in intestinal permeability and its connection to autoimmune disease

Mimi Guarneri, MD    


Significant contributions to the transformation of health care systems that have furthered the evolution of Functional Medicine’s clinical and patient-centered intellectual and spiritual approaches for prevention and treatment of chronic, complex disease

Bruce Ames, PhD    


Revolutionary work on the role of micronutrient deficiency, genetic polymorphisms and associations with chronic disease

Dean Ornish, MD    


Pioneering clinical research demonstrating the impact of lifestyle interventions on chronic disease

Mark Hyman, MD    


Dedication, leadership and advocacy in creating, practicing, and teaching Functional Medicine

Bethany Hays, MD    


Dedication and leadership in the field of Functional Medicine and women’s health issues

Michael Holick, PhD, MD    


Foundational research on the impact of vitamin D on human health

Eleanor Rogan, PhD    


Pioneering work in estrogen metabolism and its role in the initiation of cancer

Catherine Willner, MD    


Innovative clinical advances in Functional Medicine approaches to neurology

Joseph E. Pizzorno, ND    


Dedication to advancing the Functional Medicine paradigm through research, advocacy, and writings

Walter Willett, MD, DPH    


Landmark research on the role of diet in chronic disease

Abram Hoffer, MD    


Clinical advances in personalized orthomolecular psychiatry

David Perlmutter, MD    


Pioneering research and clinical work on the role of diet and nutrition in brain-related disorders

Gerald Reaven, MD    


Groundbreaking research on insulin resistance, hyperinsulinemia and risk of chronic disease

Leo Galland, MD    


Advances in the Functional Medicine model of antecedents-triggers-mediators model and patient-centered care

Kilmer McCully, MD    


Foundational research on homocysteine as a marker for inflammation  and early development of heart disease

Sidney Baker, MD    


Advances in clarifying and unifying the Functional Medicine paradigm

David S. Jones, MD    


Leadership and advocacy in the clinical practice of Functional Medicine

Glenn Doman    


Clinical advances in working with brain-injured children

2011 Linus Pauling Functional Medicine Lifetime Achievement Award

Jeffrey Bland, PhD    
Exceptional creativity, dedication, leadership, and brilliance in developing and advancing the principles and practice of Functional Medicine

Click here to download a printable version of this list.